Thursday, 28 July 2011

Dub Phizix - Break It

Big, big, big fans of Dub Phizix round here and his new single is released this week on Criticals sister label, Modulations.

On the A side "Break It" comes in hard with a growling bass line thats been devastating clubs for some time. On the flip Dub Phizix teams up with Skeptical to bring you "Four" an eyes down steppah which carries both of their unmistakeable sounds thrown into the mix.

Can't get enough of this stuff. Clean, deep and rolling tracks. I've said it before but the production is incredibly tight. Dub Phizix is clearly a man who loves his work.

Dub Phizix - Module007 by Dub Phizix
Critical Recordings
Dub Phizix @ soundcloud

Sounds That Speaks Volumes 11

Plasticians yearly mix returns packed full of bass driven beats and once again seamlessly bridges the gap between dubstep and grime. Exclusives are in abundance which is surely expected by now. The links will probably change as more of the mix becomes available as single tracks etc but nevertheless its surely an essential freebie.

Download from

Wednesday, 27 July 2011

Mick Boogie & DJ Jazzy Jeff pt.2

Mixtapes do not come better than these two instalments. Proof yet that there's still dedicated selectors for hip-hop with groove.


1) Intro: Summer Breeze
2) Jazzy Jeff & Fresh Prince: Summertime
3) Smif–n-Wessun: Bucktown
4) Jagged Edge: Where The Party At?
5) R. Kelly: Summer Bunnies
6) Gap Band: Outstanding
7) Steve Winwood: Higher Love
8) Redman & Method Man: Da Rockwilder
9) De La Soul: Buddy
10) Slick Rick: The Show
11) Jill Scott: Golden
12) Mos Def: Brown Sugar
13) Norman Connor: Invitation
14) Grand Puba: I Like It
15) DeBarge: I Like It
16) EPMD: Never Seen Before
17) Le Pamplemousse: Gimme What You Got
18) Alkaholiks: Daamn (Mick’s In My Bed Blend)
19) Q-Tip: Let's Ride 20) PM Dawn: Set Adrift On Memory Bliss
21) Spandau Ballet: True
22) Talib Kweli: Hot Thing
23) Stevie Wonder: My Cheri Amour (Jeff’s Sucker Blend)
24) Common: I Want You
25) Musiq: For The Night
26) Jocelyn Brown: Somebody Else’s Guy
27) One Way: Cutie Pie
28) Method Man: Release Yo’ Delf
29) James Brown: The Grunt
30) Public Enemy: Night Of The Living Baseheads
31) Main Source & Donald Byrd: Lookin’ At The Front Door (Jeff’s Twice Edit)
32) Koffee Brown: After Party
33) Stevie Wonder: Love Light In Flight
34) Tom Browne: Funkin’ For Jamaica
35) Stan Getz: Saudade Vem Correndo
36) Pharcyde: Runnin’
37) Bahamadia: Uknowhowwedo
38) Big Daddy Kane: Smooth Operator
39) Mary Jane Girls: All Night Long
40) LL Cool J: Around The Way Girl
41) De La Soul: 4 More
42) The Turtles: I'm Chief Kamanawanalea
43) The Blackbyrds: Rock Creek Park
44) Pete Rock: Take Your Time
45) Slum Village: Fall In Love
46) Suite For Ma Dukes: Fall In Love

DJ Jazzy Jeff & Mick Boogie 'Summertime 2' Mixtape by freshngood


Mick Boogie & DJ Jazzy Jeff

49 tracks woven into one bright mixtape. Full of favourites and feel good cuts. One look at the tracklisting says it all. Fantastic stuff.


1. Summertime Intro
2. Kool & The Gang: Summer Madness (Live Version)
3. Kool & The Gang: Summer Madness
4. Quincy Jones: Summer In The City
5. Ahmad: Back In The Day
6. Ice Cube: It Was A Good Day
7. Roy Ayers f/ Mary J Blige: Everybody Loves The Sunshine
8. Pharcyde: Passin’ Me By (Ffej Remix)
9. Jay-Z f/ Babyface: Sunshine
10. Ramsey Lewis: Sun Goddess
11. A Tribe Called Quest: Find A Way (Ffej String Edit)
12: Bush Babies f/ Mos Def: The Love Song
13. Jodeci: Get On Up
14. The Commodores: High On Sunshine
15. J Dilla f/ Dwele : Think Twice
16. Erick Sermon f/ Marvin Gaye: Music (Mick’s Marvapella Edit)
17. Bernard Wright: Who Do You Love
18. LL Cool J: Loungin’
19. A Tribe Called Quest: Hot Sex
20. Main Source: Live At The BBQ
21. Nuyorican Soul: Nautilus
22. Pharcyde & Sublime: Summertime
23. Fresh Prince and Jazzy Jeff: Summertime Remix
24. Michael Jackson: I Can’t Help It
25. De La Soul: Breakdawn
26. Musiq: Just Friends
27. Carl Thomas: Summer Rain
28. Faze-O: Riding High
29. Dionne Warwick: Walk On By
30. Skee-Lo: I Wish
31. Black Moon: Who Got The Props
32. Frankie Beverly and Maze: Before I Let Go
33. Nu Shooz: I Can’t Wait
34. Montell Jordan: This Is How We Do It
35: The Roots f/ George Benson: Breezin’
36: Fresh Prince and Jazzy Jeff: Time To Chill
37. Biggie: Can’t You See
38. James Brown: The Payback
39. En Vogue: My Lovin’
40. Bobby McFerrin: Sunshine Of My Life
41. Fifth Dimension: Let The Sun Shine In
42. Mos Def: Sunshine
43. Nine: Whatcha Want
44. Otis Redding: Sittin’ On The Dock
45. 2Pac: I Get Around (Mick’s String Edit)
46. Zapp: Computer Love (Terry’s Mirage On The Water Mix)
47. Seals And Croft: Summer Breeze
48. Jay-Z: Dear Summer
49. Weldon Irvine: Morning Sunrise


Thursday, 21 July 2011

The Steppahs x FatKidOnFire

Keeping with The Steppahs vibe, another exclusive mix this time for FatKidOnFire. A party vibe with this mix full of summer flavours and if the rain held off in Manchester for a minute I'd be dragging the stereo into the garden to cop this. Am digging the Bonobo track hard. Ramadanmans Glut and the Matt U cut Magma are also personal favourites. Looking forward to hearing some of The Steppahs own cuts hopefully later in the year.

Track list:

1. Maurice D – Satisfied
2. Synkro – Girl
3. Bonobo – Eyesdown ft. Andreya Triana (Warrior One remix)
4. Gothtrad – Cut End
5. Matt U – Magma
6. V.I.V.E.K. – The Big Bang
7. Icicle – Xylophopia
8. Heny G – Delayed Style
9. Ramadaman – Glut
10. Dark Sky – Leave
11. Marco del Horno vs DJ Swerve ft. P Money – Ho Riddim
12. Silkie – Float
13. Sully – Reminder
14. Skream – Rollin
15. Kromestar & Jay 5ive – Hands in the Air

The Steppahs x FatKidOnFire mix by FatKidOnFire

more from The Steppahs here @ their Soundcloud page.

Tay D&B Mix for Example Magazine

As one half of the dubstep combo The Steppahs, Tay takes some time out to go back to her D&B roots to knock out this mix for Example Magazine. Rolling through some serious tunes and personal favourites including Breakage's So Mars and Departure by Synkro, I kind of wish I saw more of Tay on a jungle vibe. Bag it.


Dillinja - Take My Life - V Recordings
Bcee & S.P.Y. - Nothing To Declare - Spearhead
SpectraSoul - Melodies - Exit
Marcus Intalex & S.P.Y. - Paulista Dub - Soulr
Nasty Habits - Shadowboxing - 31 Records
Break & Die - Slow Down - Symmetry
Breakage - So Mars - Bassbin
Icicle - I Feel U - Shogun Audio
Synkro - Departure - Med School
Jubei - Alignment - Metalheadz
dBridge - Inner Disbelief - Exit
Jubei - Patience - Metalheadz
Scorpio - Trouble - V Recordings
Zero T & Steo - Refusal (Calibre Remix) - Integral

Tay - Drum&Bass MIX 4 Example Mag by The Steppahs

More from Tay and The Steppahs here @ their Soundlcloud page.
Example Magazine